Derek Walcott

THE LAUREATE: Nobel biography and Wikipedia page

WHAT I’M READING: As much as I can from his Collected Works 48-84REVIEW: I only managed to get into his autobiographical poem about three eighths of the way into the book, but man, Walcott is a lot of fun. He writes with a more narrative style than some of the other poets I’ve read recently. His early work, which is pretty much all I got to, frequently blended Homeric ideas into the daily life of the West Indies. This particular strand of his work culminates in Omeros, an epic poem that I’ve been meaning to read for years.

RECOMMENDED: Yes.

WHAT’S NEXT: Juan Ramon Jimenez’ God Desired and Desiring

This entry was posted in 1992.

Leave a Reply

